Pingwood Art Group – Cinema Memories

Today we finally got to spend some time transforming memories of cinema into silkscreen printed posters with the Pingwood Art Group who are based at the Towerhill Community Centre, Ebony Way, Kirkby – here are just a few of the memories we collected:

“Getting into the Scala Cinema for a chicken in 1960” – Billy

“I made my husband queue outside the cinema to watch ELVIS on his 18th birthday” – Marie

“Flash Gordon was my favourite – I used to pretend to be Ming the Merciless with my mother’s fur collar coat” – Tess

“Around 1952 we saw The Crimson Pirate” with Burt Lancaster, in Technicolor, in a marquee in Speke.” – Fred

“We were thrown out of 2001 a Space Odyssey” – Maureen

“I saw Enter the Dragon at the ABC Picturehouse in Liverpool.  When we came out people were practicing Kung-Fu in the middle of the road.” – Colin

“We went to see Calamity Jane in Liverpool and me Nana accidently left me behind.  I was 5.” – Jimmy

“I went to see Sound of Music 12 times! I used to drag my friend Joan along.” – Bridie

5 responses to “Pingwood Art Group – Cinema Memories

  1. Pingback: Smeech Blog » Screening Memories

  2. joanne matthewson

    Hello, I work for a dementia resource centre and we are currently attempting to create an authentic cinema room to improve peoples quality of life , I have been looking for posters and the ones I have seen you making on web site look great, would you be able donate, or could we purchase any? Joanne

    • Hi Joanne

      wow sounds great! where are you based?

      I’m sure we could donate some designs, but it would be better in some ways to collect memories from people who work in the centre or use the centre, or their families, and then make some new designs. What do you think?

  3. Pingback: Screening Memories | What Is Re-Dock?

  4. Pingback: Screening Memories | Re-Dock

Leave a comment